

PARA Assembly Delegate Positions

The PARA Assembly is comprised of the Executive Board and delegates from the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary.

Each university has up to 20 delegates, separated into two groups: Program Liaisons and Members at Large.

PARA Program Liaisons*

(12 program liaison positions from the University of Alberta; 12 program liaison positions from the University of Calgary)

- Family, Emergency, and Public Health and Preventive Medicine (three delegate positions)
- Procedural and Surgical (three delegate positions) includes surgical disciplines,
 Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology,
 Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology, Urology
- Medical (four delegate positions) includes such programs as Cardiology, Critical Care, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Geriatric Medicine, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Internal Medicine, Nephrology, Neurology, Occupational Medicine, Oncology, Palliative Care, Pediatrics, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Psychiatry, Respirology, Rheumatology, Radiation, Oncology
- Diagnostic (one delegate position) includes Diagnostic Radiology, Medical Genetics,
 Microbiology, Nuclear Medicine, Neuropathology, all fields of Pathology
- Rural (one delegate position)

PARA Members at Large

(maximum of eight from the University of Alberta and eight from the University of Calgary)

- Postgraduate years 1 and 2 (three delegate positions)
- Postgraduate year 3 or higher (three delegate positions)
- Open (two delegate positions) Resident physicians running for an Open Member at Large position must identify the under-represented perspective that they provide that would add value to the Assembly. That under-represented perspective should be highlighted within their nomination form and letter of intent.

^{*} To foster continuity on the PARA Assembly, Program Liaisons are able to choose to extend their terms for one consecutive year without requiring re-election.