PARA Well-Being Award Winners


The 2017 – 2018 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Michelle Morros, Assistant Program Director (Edmonton)
Dr. Kara Nerenberg, Clinical Lecturer (Calgary)
Dr. Ieleen Taylor, Family Physician (rural)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. Richard Beekman, General Surgery (rural)
Dr. Adam Hrdlicka, Family Medicine Preceptor (rural)
Dr. Arlene Kanigan, Program Director (Edmonton)
Dr. Jay Zhu, Staff Plastic Surgeon (Edmonton)

The 2016 – 2017 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Paula Burke, Family Medicine (rural)
Dr. Melanie Marsh-Joyal, Psychiatry (Edmonton)
Dr. Claire Temple-Oberle, Plastic Surgery (Calgary)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. Richdeep Gill, General Surgery (Calgary)
Dr. Kathryn Koliaska, Public Health and Preventive Medicine (Edmonton)
Dr. Steven Lopushinsky, General Surgery (Calgary)

The 2015 – 2016 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Simerpreet Bal, Adult Neurology, (Calgary)
Dr. Loretta Fiorillo, Dermatology (Edmonton)
Dr. Bobbi-Jo Whitfield, Rural Family Medicine (Medicine Hat)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. Toba Oluboka, Psychiatry (Calgary)
Dr. May Lynn Quan, General ISurgery (Calgary)

The 2014 – 2015 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Jean Boodhoo, Psychiatry (Medicine Hat)
Dr. Lloyd Mack, General Surgery (Calgary)
Dr. Keith Tankel, Radiation Oncology (Edmonton)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. Denise Campbell-Scherer, Family Medicine (Edmonton)
Dr. Peter Hamilton, General Internal Medicine (Edmonton)
Dr. Adam Hrdlicka, Family Medicine (Edmonton)
Dr. Ian Peterson, Cardiology (Edmonton)

The 2013 – 2014 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Aleem Bharwani, Internal Medicine (Calgary)
Dr. Sandy Dong, Emergency Medicine (Edmonton)
Dr. Robert Warren, Rural Family Medicine (Sundre)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. Joseph Hawkwood, Rural Family Medicine (Hinton)
Dr. Luanne Metz, Internal Medicine (Calgary)
Dr. Sandy Widder, General Surgery (Edmonton)

The 2012-2013 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Jennifer Bestard, Neurology (Red Deer)
Dr. May Mrochuk, Emergency Medicine (Edmonton)
Dr. Michael Yeung, Neurology (Calgary)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. John Ryan,  Psychiatry (Calgary)

The 2011-2012 PARA Well-Being Award winners are as follows:

Dr. Laura Cook, Neurology (Calgary)
Dr. Kathryn Koliaska, Public Health & Preventive Medicine (Edmonton)

Honourable Mentions to:
Dr. Suki Dhillon, Radiology & Diagnostic Imaging (Edmonton)

PARA has awarded the Well-Being Award annually since 2007. For the list of winners prior to 2011, please contact the PARA office.


Join us for our one-day facilitated workshops to explore the dynamics of collaboration in a multidisciplinary health care setting.


Stay up-to-date with all the upcoming events that PARA is either hosting or participating in, and find out how you can contribute.


Access our Member-Exclusive pages with member content, committees, sponsorship, seminars, publications and much more.